St Asaph Notitiae

The Diocese of St Asaph

At the beginning of the eighteenth century the Diocese of St Asaph was divided into eight deaneries:

Bromfield and Yale | Cedewain | Cyfeiliog and Mawddwy
Edeyrnion and Penllyn | Marchia | Pool | Rhos | Tegeingl

To view the Notitiae, click on the relevant Deanery in the list or on it's respective location on the map.

Deanery boundaries are consistent with those of St Asaph Diocesan Records, Reports on Rural Deaneries, 1709-1730 (SA/RD/1-22).

In 1912, the Notitiae were studied and an abstract of the figures made: this has been included as an addendum to the main series (SA/MISC/1492-1495). However, subsequent examination of the returns show that some of the information given in the abstract is incorrect, and the index to the digitised images should therefore be consulted. This also needs to be referred to in order to confirm any reference which may have been made to the Notitiae in published works, e.g. the transcriptions of the returns in Mont. Coll., vols 59-63, 65-66, 68-70, 73-74, 76-80, and 84.
Bromfield and Yale Marchia Edeyrnion and Penllyn Cedewain Pool Tegeingl Cyfeiliog and Mawddwy Rhos

Hawlfraint / Copyright © Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru : National Library of Wales

Mae'r tudalennau yma yng ngofal Swyddog y We
These pages are maintained by the Web Officer
© LlGC/NLW 1996-2002. Diweddarwyd - 03/02 - Last updated.