The Welsh Political Archive

The Welsh Political Archive was set up in 1983 to co-ordinate the collection of documentary evidence of all kinds about politics in Wales.

It collects the records and papers of political parties, politicians, quasi-political organisations, campaigns and pressure groups; leaflets, pamphlets, ephemera, posters, photographs, and tapes of radio and television programmes.

Contacting The Welsh Political Archive

For more information about the Archive please contact the library's enquiry service.

The member of staff responsible for the archive is:

Rob Phillips

Tel: 01970 632 984

The Welsh Political Archive's Advisory Committee

In 1985 the Library set up the Welsh Political Archive's Advisory Committee, which meets once a year on the first Friday of every November. The annual lecture is held on the same day in the evening.

The members include politicians, historians, broadcasters and political scientists. The Committee provides and important link between the Archives and those active in Welsh politics.

Proposals made by the Committee have led to the publication of a newsletter, the setting up of an annual lecture, and the establishment of an automated database of election results. The newsletter contains the names of the Advisory Committee members.

Members of the Welsh Political Archive’s Advisory Committee

Name Organisation
Dr Denis Balsom  
Emeritus Professor Deirdre Beddoe  
Ms Jane Runeckles Wales TUC
Mr Alun Burge  
Mr Cynog Dafis Plaid Cymru
Dr Russell Deacon Welsh Liberal Democrats
Mr Darron Dupre Unison
Dr Andrew Edwards Bangor University
Mr Aled Eirug  
Mr Rhys Evans BBC Wales
Mr Gwyn Griffiths National Assembly for Wales
Mr Sam Hadley National Assembly for Wales
Mr Dave Hagendyk Welsh Labour
Mr Darran Hill Political Consultant
Professor Sir Deian Hopkin  
Mr Gwyn Jenkins  
Prof Angela John Aberystwyth University
Avril Jones The National Library of Wales
Prof Richard Wyn Jones Welsh Governance Centre
Dr Gwenllian Lansdown Davies Plaid Cymru
Mr David Melding AM Welsh Conservatives
Lord Kenneth O Morgan  
Mr Rob Phillips The National Library of Wales
Mr Roger Pratt Welsh Conservatives
Lord Rowlands Labour Party Wales
Prof Roger Scully Wales Governance Centre
Dr Guto Thomas BBC Wales
Mr Lee Waters Institute of Welsh Affairs
Mr Darren Williams  

Changes to the Catalogue 

During December, the Library will be changing to a new Catalogue, which will replace the current Catalogue and Full Catalogue. 

We would like to notify current users of the Library that there will be some changes that may affect their use of the Catalogue and require further action. 

Changes to the Catalogue

Was this page useful?